Indiana Football

Thursday, February 21, 2013

EIAC: Expansion Brings Change

By Greg Shoemaker | Featured Analyst

Sam Fette and his Lawrenceburg Tigers will not being playing longtime rival East Central in 2012.

The 2013 football season will see the EIAC expanding to eight teams. The league moves north and west to Rushville and Connersville.

According to the new additions have been relatively futile in football. Rushville has had just one winning season since 2001. Connersville is coming off their first winning season since before 1994. The Spartans went a combined 15-126 since 1998 before their seven victories in 2012.

For the first time the conference will morph into two divisions based on enrollment. The larger school division will include East Central, South Dearborn, Franklin County and Connersville all Class 4A schools.

The smaller enrollment division will include Lawrenceburg, Greensburg, Batesville and Rushville. All schools are Class 3A schools except Lawrenceburg who is Class 2A.

One tragedy of the expansion is that Lawrenceburg and East Central will not play each other for the first time in years.

“It makes me mad, but was done before I got the job,” Lawrenceburg head coach Ryan said. “The previous Coach and AD made that switch.”

Knigga’s Tigers went 11-2 a year ago making their way to IHSAA Playoffs, Class 2A Regional semi-final before falling Mater Dei.

Greg is a co-founder of TSF and is now entering his ninth season as a Featured Analyst for the website. The Xavier University grad also serves as the Content Manager for the website and is widely considered one of the top high school football experts in the region. If you are interested in covering your team, please CONTACT US.