Kentucky Football

Monday, December 24, 2012

Hope, Dee, McCoy Named All-Kentucky


Seth Hope is one of three Highlands players named 1st TEam All-Kentucky by the AP

Highlands placed three players on the 2012 AP All-Kentucky Team.

Quarterback Donovan McCoy, offensive lineman Mitch Dee and defensive lineman Seth Hopepaced the way for the Class 4A state champion Bluebirds.

Wide receiver James Quick of Trinity was named Mr. Football. Jason Hiser of Pleasure Ridge Park was recognized as the Coach of the Year.

Here is a look at the 2012 AP All-Kentucky Team:


QB - Donovan McCoy, Highlands
RB - Dalyn Dawkins, Trinity
RB - Jeffrey Canady, Knox Central
WR - James Quick, Trinity
WR - Ryan Timmons, Franklin Count
WR - Nacarius Fant, Bowling Green
OL - Hunter Bivin, Apollo
OL - Joey Bloomfield, Ballard
OL - Mitch Dee, Highlands
OL - Chris Doss, John Hardin
OL - Andrew Carlisle, Owensboro Catholic
K - Damir Karapandzic, Danville

DL - Jason Hatcher, Trinity
DL - Jabari Jordan, Trinity
DL - Seth Hope, Highlands
DL - Jacob Hyde, Clay County
DL - Tevin Slaughter, Somerset
LB - Lincoln Quick, Bowling Green
LB - Jonathan Jackson, Mayfield
LB - Domonick Brown, John Hardin
LB - Deonte Clyburn, St. Xavier
DB - Ryan White, Trinity
DB - Dennis Oxendine, Tates Creek
DB - Allen Gonsalves, Bowling Green
DB - Richard Trent, Breathitt County
DB - Shane Fields, Eastern
P - Jeffrey Canady, Knox Central


QB - Kyle Bolin, Lexington Catholic
QB - Travis Wright, Trinity
RB - Jonathan Jackson, Mayfield
RB - Kentayvus Hopkins, Bourbon County
RB - Jake Middleton, Bell County
RB - Chris Brewer, Fairview
RB - A.J. Collins, Cooper
RB - Charles Walker, St. Xavier
RB - Nick Britt, Russell County
WR - Scott Daniel, Scott County
WR - Jordan Olinger, Hazard
WR - Tez Sivils, Caldwell County
WR - Aaron Jackson, Frankfort
OL - Jonathan Burnett, Bell County
OL - Cody Chaffin, South Warren
OL - Zach Taylor, Belfry
OL - Matt Boston, Glasgow
OL - Derick Jude, Belfry
OL - Hunter Harris, Graves County
OL - Alex Hogan, Meade County
OL - Chandler McPherson, Monroe County
K - Jacob Tompkins, Mason County
K - Houston Ray, Owensboro Catholic

DL - Cole Webster, Caldwell County
DL - Derik Overstreet, Paducah Tilghman
DL - Eli Wilson, Graves County
DL - Matt Elam, John Hardin
DL - D.J. Warwick, Bell County
LB - Max Nussbaum, Beechwood
LB - Matt Jewell, Corbin
LB - Donald Styles, Central
LB - Jalen Fleming, John Hardin
DB - Treyvon Long, Haran County
DB - Dylan Hayes, Newport Central Cath
DB - Darrius Spivey-Nunn, Paducah Tilghman
DB - Cade O'Bryan, Ashland
DB - Kentayvus Hopkins, Bourbon County
DB - Matthew Barger, Knox Central
P - Hans Mikelsoo, Fleming County

QB: Jake Guhy, Mayfield; Chad Wilson, Monroe County; Spencer Sumpter, PRP; Dalton Sizemore, Williamsburg; Devin Hayes, Bowling Green; Tyler Greer, Calloway County; Drew Barker, Conner; Zyaire Hughes, Lone Oak; Patrick Anderson, John Hardin; Ty Saragas, Harlan; Peyton Puckett, Graves County; Logan Woodside, Franklin County; Blake Bir, Covington Catholic; Tyler Morris, Cooper.

RB: Damien Harris, Madison Southern; Zach Katzman, Graves County; Keileen Chappell, Henderson Co.; Wade Holtsclaw, John Hardin; Dylan Byrd, DeSales; Quentel Bradley, Glasgow; D'juan Sherrill, Lone Oak; Jonathan Polly, Bell County; Dennis Oxendine, Tates Creek; Tyler Goins, Pulaski County; Michael Nelson, North Laurel; Dylan Hayes, Newport Central Cath.; Jaylen Boyd, Caldwell County; Max Nussbaum, Beechwood.

WR: Tyler Starkey, Graves County; Jordan Brown, Mayfield; Taywan Taylor, PRP; Corey Shelton, Williamsburg; Skyler Griffith, Williamsburg; Tre Harrison, Eastern; Cameron Fogle, Conner; Treyvon Long, Harlan County.

OL: Eli Wilson, Graves County; Anthony Roark, Fairview; John Shepherd, Knox Central; Jason Smith, Lone Oak; Johnny Hopkins, North Hardin; Jacob Jeffers, Williamsburg; Cole Mosier, Walton-Verona; Tyler Prater, Middlesboro; Ian Gilson, Glasgow; Dylan Hale, Monroe County; Heath Burnett, Fleming County.

Kicker/Punter: Nick Gregory, Henderson Co.; Keaton Kennedy, North Laurel.

DL: Logan Cart, Owensboro Catholic; Kyle Downing, Mayfield; Darius Catlett, Murray; Khalil Frame, Fulton City; Tony Messer, Belfry; Armani Wardlaw, Knox Central; Anthony Roark, Fairview; Cole Mosier, Walton-Verona.

LB: Jeffrey Canady, Knox Central; Dustin Vessel, Graves Count; Carson Whitehead, Harlan County; Tyson Williams, Somerset; Andrew Douglas, Pineville; Jared Bowling, Simon Kenton; Cade Wilke, Henderson Co.; Austin Yancey, Graves County; Aaron Reed, Caverna; Josh Durham, Barren County; Maddison Ghormley, Belfry; Dondre Jackson, Mayfield; Hayden Canady, Knox Central; Eli Brown, Warren East; Dagan Shelton, Wayne County; Boston Bryant, Whitley County; Garrett Ray, John Hardin.

DB: Jordan Brown, Mayfield; Zach Katzman, Graves County; Sani Warren, Belfry; Skyler Griffith, Williamsburg; Rondell Green, Warren Central; Chase Sevic, Mayfield; Corey Shelton, Williamsburg; A.J. Collins, Cooper; Devon Turner, Fairview; Maverick Burnett, Fleming County; Tyler Starkey, Graves County; Jonathan Scruggs, Holmes; Logan Bell, Metcalfe County; Brooks Murphy, Monroe County.

Mr. Football: James Quick, Trinity

Coach of the Year: Jason Hiser, Pleasure Ridge Park

This article has bee produced from various reports provided to the staff. If you are interested in covering your team, please CONTACT US.