Tri-State Football

Thursday, December 20, 2012

All-TSF: QB Primer

By Greg Shoemaker | Featured Analyst

Moeller's Spencer Iacovone is one of only two nominated quarterbacks to win a state title in 2012.

What a year it was for quarterbacks in the Tri-state area. Coming into 2012 it looked like there was a potential to have a banner campaign for signal-callers and those under center lived up to expectations and then some.

There are plenty of worthy candidates for the area’s top QB. Those listed should take pride knowing that they are part of a special group and be recognized as the best amongst their peers is truly an honor and nothing to be ashamed of if one falls short.

With the passing game in high school evolving to new levels, many players were able to post some monster numbers.

Here is a look at the quarterback nominee’s for the 2012 Postseason Team, presented by Apex Awards:

FINALISTS: Drew Barker (Conner); Blake Bir (CovCath); Tyler Durham (Campbell County); Austin Ernst (McNicholas); Javon Harrison (Wayne); Spencer Iacovone (Moeller); Zack Jansen (Madeira); Connor Jansen (Turpin); Luke Kennard (Franklin); in Marshall (Middletown); Donovan McCoy (Highlands); Luke Morgan (Lebanon); Tyler Morris (Cooper); Alfred Ramsby (Colerain); Greg Simpson (Sycamore); Mike Williams (Taft); Devin Wood (Western Brown); and Malik Zaire (Alter).

VOTE NOW (through Jan 9)

21 AND OVER: Very few quarterbacks on our list were under center for 20 or more wins during their careers. The 22nd victory for Moeller signal-caller Spencer Iacavone could not have been any sweeter as his Crusaders beat Whitmer for the Division I state championship in his final game.

Madeira went 25-4 with Zack Jansen as a starter. The Mustangs only loss came to 2012 Division IV state champion, Clinton-Massie.

It was a rough go out of the gate for Turpin’s Connor Jansen, who started off 1-3 for the Spartans. He found his groove after that and the program went 20-4 with him guiding the offense.

Middletown went 21-9 in three years with Jalin Marshall taking snaps as the starter for the Middies.

The rise of the Cooper football program would not have been possible without the play of Tyler Morris, who was quarterback for 22 of the program’s 27 total victories in school history, 19 of those coming in the last two years culminating in a Class 5A state finals appearance this fall.

Blake Bir guided CovCavth to a 25-13 mark in his 38 starts. Bir threw a TriState best 38 touchdowns in 2012 as he shattered the Colonels record books.

1,000/1,000 CLUB: The majority of our finalists can beat you with their arm or their legs however getting into the “rarified category of 1,000 yards passing and 1,000 yards receiving is not that easy. Six quarterbacks achieved those numbers this past fall.

No one racked up bigger numbers than Donovan McCoy of the state champion Highlands Bluebirds. McCoy accrued 3,913 yards of total offense (2,769 PaYd and 1,144 RuYd) and 54 total touchdowns (32 PaTD and 22 RuTD).

Drew Barker accomplished that feat for a second consecutive season with 1,486 yards rushing and 2,067 passing to go along with 40 total touchdowns (18 RuTD and 22 PaTD). Barker is on pace to finish his Cougar career with over 8,000 yards of total offense.

Also in Kentucky, Tyler Durham ran for 1,917 yards with 27 scores on the ground while throwing for another 1,542 yards for Campbell County. That earned him a second straight Class 6A, District 6A Player of the Year selection.

In the GMC, the Division I Southwest District Offensive Player of the Year and First-Team All-Ohio selection, Alfred Ramsby, threw the ball and ran the ball like no other Cardinal before him with 1,649 passing yards, 1,510 on the ground to go along with 16 touchdowns tosses and 18 more via the run. Sycamore junior Greg Simpson also hit the magical marks.

Southpaw Malik Zaire from Alter closed out a wonderful career earning Division III Southwest District Player of the Year accolades with 1,990 yards passing, 1,120 yards on the ground and 33 total touchdowns (24 PaTD and 9 RuTD).

UNDERCLASS PANACHE: Only four underclassmen made our list of finalists: Drew Barker (Conner), Luke Kennard (Franklin), Devin Wood (Western Brown), and Greg Simpson (Sycamore). Barker already has offers on the table from a number of schools including Cincinnati, Louisville, Illinois and South Carolina. The 6-foot-5, 190 pound, Kennard a two-sport star already has offers in basketball from Ohio State, Xavier and Butler to name a few. Wood threw for 2,732 yards and 28 touchdowns top amongst all underclass quarterbacks in 2012. Simpson accounted for 3,037 yards of total offense (1,915 rushing & 1,024 passing) and 41 (28 rushing & 13 passing) total touchdowns that was good enough to earn him GMC Offensive Player of the Year honors.

COLLEGE COMMITMENTS: Jalin Marshall (Middletown) is headed to Ohio State as a wide receiver/athlete. Malik Zaire (Alter) will join Brian Kelly at Notre Dame. Javon Harrison (Wayne) is going to the University of Cincinnati as a defensive back. Austin Ernst (McNicholas) will be suiting up for Division II Ohio Dominican in Columbus. Ernst led the area with 2,819 yards passing.

FIRST-YEAR PHENOM: Taft’s Mike Williams was a defensive standout for the Senators in his first three seasons. He took to the quarterback position like a fish to water as a senior. Williams threw for 1,858 yards, ran for another 693 while accounting for 27 touchdowns (20 passing and seven rushing) on his way to CMAC Offensive Player of the Year honors.

ALSO CONSIDERED: Cameron Belton (Northmont), Malik Bland (Withrow), Levi Boyer (Carlisle), Josh Cain (NewCath), Austin Chapman (Gallatin County), Andrew Conover (Norwood), Ricky Davis (Bishop Fenwick), Sam Fette (Lawrenceburg), KeShawn Foley (Batavia), Malik Grove (Lakota West), Adam Hazlett (Owen County), Brennan Kuntz (Simon Kenton), Will Marty (Wyoming), Drew Moore (Dixie Heights), Josh Moore (Elder), Conner Osborne (CHCA), Cory Roberson (Northwest), Jack Schaaf (Springboro), Jack Sherry (South Oldham), Dexter Smith (Lloyd), Nick Tensing (St. Xavier), Tyler Uetrecht (Clinton-Massie), Cameron Washington (Western Hills), Jake Weber (Harrison), Brandon Williams (Shroder), and Antonio Woods (Summit Country Day).

Greg is a co-founder of TSF and is now entering his ninth season as a Featured Analyst for the website. The Xavier University grad also serves as the Content Manager for the website and is widely considered one of the top high school football experts in the region. If you are interested in covering your team, please CONTACT US.