Ohio Football

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Ramsby, Jones Named District POY's


Moeller linebacker, Shane Jones is the 2012 Division I, Southwest District Defensive Player of the Year.

Colerain quarterback, Alfred "LA" Ramsby was named the AP Southwest District Offensive Player of the Year for 2012 on Monday. Ramsby led the Cardinals to an undefeated regular season while throwing for more than 1,000 and and rushing for more than 1,000 yards on the year. Ramsby's totals currently sit at 1,535 yards passing, 15 touchdown tosses, 1,432 yards onb the ground with 18 scores rushing heading into Saturday's Region 4 Final versus Moeller. Opposing him this weekend will Moeller linebacker, Shane Jones who took home the honors as the District's Defensive Player of the Year. The Michigan State-bound Jones has racked up 106 total tackles, 2.5, sacks, two fumble recoveries and an interception on the year.

First-year Miamisburg head coach, Steve Channell brings home Coach of the Year honors after leading the Vikings to 7-3 campaign. The former Edgewood helmsman led the Miamisburg out of their funk as the program had won a grand total of four contest over the previous four seasons.

Here is a look at the 2012 Dvision I, All-Southwest District squad:

OFFENSE: Ends - Austin Wolf, Lebanon, 6-4, 200, sr.; Derek Kief, La Salle, 6-5, 185, jr. Linemen - Alex Gall, Moeller, 6-5, 295, sr.; Sean Welsh, Springboro, 6-4, 275, sr.; Dylan Wiesman, Colerain, 6-4, 300, sr.; Evan Lisle, Centerville, 6-6, 275, sr.; Kyle Meadows, Lakota West, 6-5, 270, sr. Quarterback - Alfred Ramsby, Colerain, 5-11, 195, sr. Backs - Keith Watkins, Archbishop Moeller, 6-foot, 180, sr.; Darryl Johnson, Mason, 5-10, 195, sr.; Raman Hardin, Springboro, 5-10, 205, sr. Kicker - Tom West, Fairmont, 6-2, 215, sr.

DEFENSE: Linemen - Brant Gressel , Centerville, 6-2, 280, sr.; Jake Replogle, Centerville, 6-5, 260, sr.; Charlie Lawler, Loveland, 6-2, 220, jr.; Conrad Lamb, Springboro, 6-0, 212, sr. Linebackers - Nick Isaacs, Withrow, 6-2, 244, sr.; Shane Jones, Moeller, 6-2, 225, sr.; Airius Moore, Beavercreek, 6-0, 220, jr.; Marcus Oliver, Hamilton, 6-1, 220, sr. Backs - Robbie Ries, St. Xavier, 5-10, 175, sr.; Bradd Ellis , Lebanon, 5-10, 170, sr.; Punter - Sam Geraci, Moeller, 6-3, 200; sr.

Offensive player of the year: Alfred Ramsby, Cin. Colerain.
Defensive player of the year: Shane Jones, Cin. Archbishop Moeller.
Coach of the year: Steve Channell, Miaimisburg.

OFFENSE: Ends - Kevin Milligan, St. Xavier, 5-9, 180, sr.; Jesse Bray, Wayne, 6-2, 195, sr.; Linemen -Mason Morgan, Sycamore, 6-6, 235, sr.; Carson Baker, Fairborn, 6-5, 315, sr.; Jake Hilvert, Elder, 6-5, 285, sr.; Jarrett LaRubbio, Lakota East, 6-4, 250, jr.; Elijah Nkansah, Mason, 6-5, 305, sr. Quarterback - Luke Morgan, Lebanon, 6-2, 220, sr.; Backs - Zach Kruer, Miamisburg, 5-10, 170, sr.; Chris Schroer, Elder, 6-0, 210, jr.; Will Mahone, Lakota East, 5-9, 190, sr.; Kicker - Lakota West, 6-3, 200, jr.

DEFENSE: Linemen - Terry Ramsey, Northmont, 6-5, 225, jr.; Zach Leftenant, Oak Hills, 6-3, 240, sr.; Lovell Peterson, Wayne, 6-4, 280, sr.; Aric Johnson, Colerain, 5-10, 215, jr. Linebackers - Mitchell Larson, Xenia, 5-10, 175, sr.; Marc McGeorge, Elder, 6-2, 225, sr.; Dorian Hendrix, Wayne, 6-1, 220, jr.; Jake Chestnut, Lakota East, 6-1, 215, sr.; Backs - Mike Williams, Fairfield, 6-0, 190, sr.; Jaleel Hytche, La Salle, 5-11, 160, sr.; Isaiah Williams, Northmont, 6-4, 180, jr. Punter - Jeremy Bridges, Fairborn, 6-1, 185, jr.

Malik Bland, Withrow; Spencer Iacovone, Moeller; Jalin Marshall, Middletown; Jack Schaaf, Springboro; Greg Simpson, Sycamore; Nick Tensing, St. Xavier; Chris Davis, Colerain; Mikel Horton, Lakota West; Kyle Longworth, Springboro; Graham Peters, Loveland; Demarco Ruffin, Oak Hills; DeShawn Sloan, Western Hills; Tyler Denton, Hamilton; Jake Johnson, Springboro; Max Mazza, Elder; Casey Pieper, Archbishop Moeller; Joe Ramstetter, Elder; Thaddeus Snodgrass, Springfield; Dominique Stollings, Northmont; Dave Baumer, La Salle; Brandon Ehlinger, Springfield; Ben Flick, Hamilton; Austin Jarvis, Loveland; Blake Myers, Miamisburg; Robbie Parker, Hamilton; Ben Pendery, Lakota West; A.J. Morrison, Hamilton; Joe Burl, Western Hills; Ryan Gamber, Sycamore; Jake McCluskey, Archbishop Moeller; Tinashe Bere, Sycamore; Terrance Crowe, Springfield; Andrew Hauser, Mason; Tyler Ikerd, Miamisburg; Mark Jacob, St. Xavier; Mike Kelly, Lakota West; Casey Lozier, Colerain; De"Shannon Oats, Withrow; Tyler Reason, Beavercreek; Nick Szabados, Archbishop Moeller; Drake Thompson, Northmont; Mike Weber, Loveland; Randy Anderson, Mason; Joe Barrett, St. Xavier; Ryan Berning, St. Xavier; Ricky Ford, Beavercreek; Shawn Harris, Middletown; D.J. Hickman, Northmont; Logan Kelleher, Moeller; Jeff Larkin, La Salle; Robert Nsenga, Fairmont; Ryan Williamson, Colerain; Javon Harrison, Wayne; Cole Newsome, Wayne; Seth Perdziola, Troy; Nick Zimmer, Troy; Victor Cave, Glen Este; Jordan Nicoll, Springboro; Jordan Rigg, Springboro; Tyler Lee, Xenia; Lawrence Inman, Fairborn; Cameron Washington, Western Hills; Malik Grove, Lakota West; Andrew Gantz, Centerville.

This article has bee produced from various reports provided to the TriStateFootball.com staff. If you are interested in covering your team, please CONTACT US.